Author Topic: Best practices as a telecom administrator  (Read 6477 times)

Offline Mikey0

• View Profile
Best practices as a telecom administrator
« on: January 31, 2013, 12:13:53 PM »
I'm a newbie admin but i've been dealing with my companies Mitel phone system for a while now. I pose these questions to all of you more seasoned admins and anyone with an opinion. I'm running a 5000 HX in 3 different locations with IP and digital phones.

What are some of your best practices when dealing with day to day phone system administration?
How do you stay on top of the last releases/software versions for your system as i'm told Mitel doesn't have any sort of mailing list to notify about this?
What are some common headaches you guys notice and how do you deal with them?

I look forward to hearing from all of you, hopefully this can be a great discussion.

Offline acejavelin

• Global Moderator
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: Best practices as a telecom administrator
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2013, 04:08:55 PM »
Day to day administration is usually easy... if it ain't broke, don't fix it! Make changes and updates to the system configuration only as needed, and backup prior to any "significant" change (anything more than a name or password change). Otherwise, scheduled monthly backups are about all the maintenance needed.

As far as updates to the system go, unless something is broke or specific feature is needed, annually updating to the latest release is usually sufficient. Make sure to maintain your software assurance, if it lapses, there is a premium renewal charge.

Mitel's generally require very little to no "day to day" maintenance, especially in the modern days of IP phones, you can just move them at will with virtually no headaches.

Offline NTEDave

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2013, 06:06:56 PM »