Author Topic: TFTP Download extremely slow  (Read 3309 times)

Offline griam01

• Contributer
    • View Profile
TFTP Download extremely slow
« on: May 08, 2017, 01:45:57 PM »
I am a remote tech and frequently have to re-teleworker my test phones to new IP's to test functionality in a customer's environment.  After changing IPs, the TFTP is extremely slow.  It takes about 4 seconds (yes, I timed it) to increment each number.  Needless to say it takes about 10 minutes to download TFTP Main, then several minutes to flash, then 3 minutes to download TFTP Boot.  Finally about 15-20 minutes later I have a phone I can use.

I worked for a previous company and it was never this slow.  I used to not be able to really see the numbers go by on the screen and I was up within a couple minutes at most.  Nothing has changed in my home network where I work.  My download speed is 200+Mbps.  I asked other coworkers if they have issues and they said theirs is not that slow.  I am wondering if it is a conflict with my ISP and the company I work for?  I even tested to see if it was the POE switch or adapter and plugged it directly into my cable modem, bypassing all other switches on my network, but the same issue occurs.  Any suggestions?  Thanks in advance for the help!

Offline acejavelin

• Global Moderator
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: TFTP Download extremely slow
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2017, 01:58:18 PM »
TFTP through various switches/routers and the internet is EXTREMELY slow... this is why never do manual upgrades on 5000 systems remotely. I have just accepted this...

Why not setup your own local TFTP server on your computer... it is super easy, just pull the TFTP directory to your computer (place it in a directory you will know the version, like MCD72SP1), use TFTPd http://tftpd32.jounin.net/ and point it to the directory you need at that time.

Offline griam01

• Contributer