Author Topic: Multicall Line on PA phones that are in Pickup Groups  (Read 1187 times)

Offline VinceWhirlwind

• View Profile
Multicall Line on PA phones that are in Pickup Groups
« on: February 23, 2016, 06:51:08 PM »
I have a bit of an issue which I would like to put out to the brains trust.
I'm fairly new to telephony, so there could be something very obvious that I am overlooking.

So we have a boss and her PA.
The PA want to monitor the boss phone and answer her calls on behalf of the boss. Seems like an obvious requirement.
The Mitel doco says use a DSS key, so we gave the PA a DSS key to monitor her boss.
Then we discover that the DSS key only allows the PA to answer the boss's calls if the boss is not on the phone. If the boss is on the phone, calls to the boss go straight to VM, the PA doesn't get them. This is obviously not at all how a PA wants to work, so we realise DSS keys just aren't fit for purpose.
To make boss calls available to the PA we changed the key to a Multicall key, and configure it to ring.
Now, whether the boss is on the phone or not on it, the Multicall key on the PA phone rings and she can take the call.
Then we discover the Multicall key doesn't show if the boss is on the phone or not - if the PA takes a call, she has to put the phone down, then walk to the boss's office to see if she's available before going back to her desk. This setup is obviously just as rubbish as the DSS key.
So....we give the PA 2 keys - a DSS key so she can see if her boss is on the phone, and a Multicall key so calls to the Boss, when the boss is on the phone, don't go straight to VM.
This works, although they think it's a bodge because we're using 2 keys for what they consider should be a very basic requirement built into one key.

OK, so now we have a pool of PAs, each responsible for her own boss.