Author Topic: Determine port associated with room number  (Read 1252 times)

Offline mythsandlegends

• View Profile
Determine port associated with room number
« on: January 14, 2016, 11:40:01 AM »
Hello all,

Mitel noob here trying to find my way, any help is appreciated.

We have a Mitel 3300, release level 4.0 SP2 on MXe platform. This is deployed in a 250 unit waterpark/hotel my company recently acquired. They have made done several room number changes over the years without applying the changes in the system...and that's where my troubles begin. I should be able to dial any room number (analog phones in the rooms) and reach the phone in that room, however this is not always the case. My question is, where do I need to look in the configuration to change what room is associated with what port in the system? Also, my company plans on eventually installing an Asterisk system in it's place to standardize with our other systems. Programming the new system would be soooo much easier if I could get a complete list of what rooms and extensions are currently associated to what pairs on the amphenol connectors. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Mike

Offline acejavelin

• Global Moderator
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: Determine port associated with room number
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2016, 02:39:33 PM »
Assuming the blocks are not labeled, you will need to make a spreadsheet and go to each room and dial the switchboard or another display phone and note the extension number, then go into the programming web page and do an export of the analog extension form and just file in the numbers... there is no easy out for this.

Once you have the cross reference sheets, you can use the MOVE SWAP command in maintenance, or change the extension in User and Device programming, which one will depend on what the cross reference sheet looks like and how bad it's messed up.

Offline mythsandlegends