Author Topic: New Admin 3300 Oaisys Issues  (Read 3213 times)

Offline jrpayne30040

• Contributer
    • View Profile
New Admin 3300 Oaisys Issues
« on: December 11, 2015, 11:05:23 AM »
I am a new phone admin for a Mitel 3300 system which utilizes Oaisys call recording. I am having some issues with sporadic recording of internal calls (which is a new problem) and no recording of internal calls which has never worked. We currently have a very bad phone support company and cannot get responses from them in a timely manner. Therefore, I am trying to train myself and my co-worker to manage this system ourselves. It seems that the call recording is done by mirroring the switch port of the controller over to the switch port of the call recorder. (in our instance anyway). Other than that, it seems to me that decisions to record or not record should be made entirely in the Oaisys server (application, system). Is that a correct assumption? Forgive me for any ignorance as I am a network guy and not a phone guy (yet). I know there is also a server running call xpress and I understand that it manages the way calls are directed but don't know if it has anything to do with recording decisions. If I ask questions about names of apps, parts, etc that most of you know, I apologize in advance. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Jimmy Payne
Forsyth County Government

Offline sarond

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: New Admin 3300 Oaisys Issues
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2015, 07:34:56 PM »
Hi Jimmy,

On the 3300 internal traffic is done directly phone to phone. So if the phones are on the same switch the RTP (Voice) will never pass through the mirrored port.
If the calls traverse the mirrored port to get to another switch then you will probably get recorded calls. Signalling is done to the 3300 so you will get the call info just no voice packets.

This is something you can probably confirm on site by testing internal calls between various switches.