Author Topic: Programming feature keys  (Read 8038 times)

Offline brad_kl

• Contributer
    • View Profile
Programming feature keys
« on: July 21, 2015, 08:48:25 PM »
Hi,

I am somewhat new to a Mitel system which I now support but have used other IP phone systems and have plenty of IT knowledge generally. I have a problem in programming a feature key on a 5312 Phone using a Mitel 5000 system

I actually have come across 3 problems which may or may not be related.

When I start up the DB programming, I get the attached error. I click yes and continue as normal.

One of the handsets/extensions i'm looking at, the programmable keys don't match what's actually on the phone. i.e. it's a 12 button phone. button 1 - 8 are all other extensions (PKM/DSS Key) but that's not what it shows me in the DB programming. That doesn't make sense.

Lastly, when i go to change a programmable key, i select 'feature key' for key type but it won't let me save anything in the selection. I 've tried typing in the code or right-click and 'change selection' but neither work. I've tried different extensions and they all do the same thing.

Thanks for the assistance
Brad

Offline Tech Electronics

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Programming feature keys
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2015, 05:59:42 AM »
brad_kl,

Unfortunately I have never run into that error before so I am not sure what it is referring to. As for the programmable keys portion I can explain how the phone uses them and hopefully that will provide you an answer when you look at the programming of the phone that is giving you issues.

There are a few places to look when dealing with programmable keys and keymaps.

First go to the phone and verify the keymaps that it is using.

System > Devices and Feature Codes > Phones > {extension} > Keymaps: see the number of the keymaps for Standard and Alternate.