Author Topic: Totally new to phone systems!! Need help please!!  (Read 3935 times)

Offline PGI_ITguy

• Contributer
    • View Profile
Totally new to phone systems!! Need help please!!
« on: February 04, 2014, 10:58:13 PM »
Hey guys I'm the IT guy at a graduate school and I've never worked with phone systems before but they want me to figure some stuff out for them so this is one problem i ran into. We have an older Active Voice Repartee Voicemail system that is connected to our Mitel 3300 MXe III phone system. The voicemail subscribers on the Active Voice Repartee Voicemail get notified on their cell phones when someone leaves them a voicemail but only if their cell phones are in area codes: 818, 310, 323 and 213. I need to expand the area codes to include dialing number in 626, 909, 951, and 970. I don’t know if the problem is on the Active Voice Repartee Voicemail system, or is the problem on the Mitel 3300 MXe III Phone system… and how do I add the ability to dial more area codes? Thanks alot if you read all that and can help! any help is greatly appreciated!

Offline ralph

• Mitel Forums Admin
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: Totally new to phone systems!! Need help please!!
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2014, 08:18:50 AM »
Odds are pretty good that the restrictions are in the 3300.
Best place to look is in the ARS Digits Dialed form and look to see if the area codes that are working now are assigned explicitly.
For example, if you dial 9 +1+<area code> look to see if there is a number assigned as 91818 or 91310.   If there is, then the easiest thing may be to simply insert 91626 and match the params of the allowed numbers.
Bear this in mind though, you may be routing those calls out trunks that are priced differently.  If you change the routing you may change what you're paying.