Author Topic: How to physically setup loudspeaker paging  (Read 20910 times)

Offline mitelrocks

• Contributer
    • View Profile
How to physically setup loudspeaker paging
« on: February 13, 2013, 10:05:36 AM »
Hi. I have a client who asked me to install a loudspeaker page for their 3300 Mxe II. I have little to no experience in this! (newbie!!) They have a large area that they want covered (its like a small cafeteria actually). There is no paging system already except for a few page groups that I created for them before (a mix and match
of a few IP phones in their tech area and operator area). 

OK. First thing I was thinking to do was to purchase a 5485 IP paging unit. I know that this device acts like a regular IP device (is it POE?) in so much that you program it as a 5010 or something like that -- so you can just put it anywhere, right?   Is the 5485 a speaker too?  Or do I have to also hook up the 5485 to an amplifier and then to a speaker?

More to the point, anyone have a working loudspeaker paging system on a Mxe?  If so, can you help me in recommending components  needed in the paging system?    I know that the MXE II also has a built in E&M paging port -- I am not that familiar with how that works. I assume that you can just connect those leads to an amp and then to a set of speakers?

Would it be better to try to setup loudspeaker paging using the E&M port (the RJ12 page port) or go with the 5485 IP Paging unit?  Thanks!

Offline Southwell

• View Profile
Re: How to physically setup loudspeaker paging
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2013, 11:29:56 AM »