Author Topic: Need Help With Upcoming Project  (Read 3097 times)

Offline Jaelluiz

• Contributer
    • View Profile
Need Help With Upcoming Project
« on: January 12, 2022, 10:40:28 AM »
Hi Friends,

I am totally new to mitel.

We have recently decided to implement mitel IP phones. The intent is to connect computers to the IP phones, as in a standard deployment.

The IP phones will be in Vlan 20, subnet 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 & the PCs will be in Vlan 1, subnet 172.16.1.0 255.255.255.0.

We will use the mitel 3300 MxE as the dhcp server for the phones, and another dhcp server in vlan 1 for the computers.

I need advice with the switch(cisco) side configuration regarding the following questions.

1. Switch port ==> Mitel 3300  (trunk  tag vlan 1, 20 or access vlan 20?)
2. Switch port ==> Mitel IP phone (trunk tag vlan 1, 20 or access vlan 1,  voice vlan 20?)
3. Is there a need for a gateway in voice vlan? as this is a flat layer 2 deployment for the IP Phones.

Offline lundah

• Global Moderator
  • Senior Chief Grunt
    • View Profile
Re: Need Help With Upcoming Project
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2022, 10:43:14 PM »
Set your switchport facing the 3300 controller to voice VLAN only, untagged; it will make your life easier. The phones are capable of using CDP to identify themselves as a phone to the switch, so they should just jump onto the voice VLAN and sent their DHCP request to the 3300 for the offer & options.

You will need a voice VLAN gateway at least for the 3300 to be able to get out to the internet for licensing and NTP time sync (unless you have a local NTP server).

Offline Jaelluiz

• Contributer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2022, 05:21:15 AM »
Thanks Lundah :).

I found your post helpful. I shall update as soon as deployment is started.

Offline Jaelluiz

• Contributer
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2022, 09:41:12 AM »
Hello Guys,