Author Topic: Inbound Caller ID shows "Loop Ports"  (Read 1326 times)

Offline roncjx3

• View Profile
Inbound Caller ID shows "Loop Ports"
« on: November 02, 2021, 04:25:53 PM »
I'm really new to all this so I may not use all the correct lingo... hopefully you can follow me.

Recently our inbound calls are showing "Loop Ports" on inbound caller ID's for most inbound calls. It used to show a name and/or number so it used to work as expected. We did have some changes to our lines as we we had 2 locations each on their own network & have now merged them onto one (this was done by an outside contractor who usually manages most of our phone system). Inbound calls to my DID will show the caller ID info, but the same caller calling our main line will show "Loop Ports" as the caller ID. I asked the outside contractor about the caller ID & he said it's on Comcast's end, but to me that doesn't make sense since it used to work as expected before the change was made.

Any ideas?

Offline Tech Electronics

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Inbound Caller ID shows "Loop Ports"
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2021, 06:40:08 PM »
roncjx3,

Well, it could be that there is no Caller-ID presented and it is showing the Trunk ID instead or the phone that is getting the call is doesn't have Advanced CO Features turned on.

Look in the system for the name, "Loop Ports" to see what it is associated with; most likely the first entry I put will have the Loop Start Ports in it.
Some places you can look are:
System > Devices and Feature Codes > CO Trunk Groups: Look at the Username Field of each Trunk Group this is the location Loop Start Ports would be programmed.
System > Devices and Feature Codes > SIP Peers > SIP Trunk Groups: Look at the Username Field of each Trunk Group this is the location where SIP trunk ports would be programmed.