Author Topic: MiCollab Client call parking  (Read 1909 times)

Offline mcain

• Contributer
    • View Profile
MiCollab Client call parking
« on: May 08, 2020, 11:21:31 AM »
Hello.  Mitel newbie here.  I could use some help and advice.

We're launching a new branch office and to cut cost we are trying to run them exclusively on MiCollab Client soft phone.  I need help comparing capabilities of the soft phone to a 5330 desk phone.

We need the ability to place a call on hold, make a different call, and then return to the first.  (Not conference them together.)  I understand the soft phone doesn't have lines like a 5330 does.

Can I park and un-park calls on the soft phone?
If so, how?

Offline NEPhoneGuy

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: MiCollab Client call parking
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2020, 11:47:45 AM »
The way I'd train users to do this would be almost like making a conference call but not joining them together. You on on call A, you conference to make Call B which puts Call A on hold and then you return to Call A when you are done with Call B - just don't complete the conference.

Offline lundah

• Global Moderator
  • Senior Chief Grunt
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2020, 06:52:03 PM »
First you'll have to program a 2nd appearance of the softphone DN, which as far as I know you can't do via a template (but you can do a copy from Mulitline Set Keys and it will change the DN for you).
Then you can do what NEPhoneGuy suggests. As far as putting a call on hold for someone else to pick up, I don't think you can park a call from a softphone but you may be able to do a Call Hold - Remote Retrieve so the other user will have to dial a FAC + the DN that placed the call on hold. So, given that, make sure your extension length setting for the PBX in MiCollab Network Elements covers the length of the FAC and DN's.

Offline NEPhoneGuy

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2020, 10:25:25 PM »