Author Topic: different phone for staff member now "Dial by Name" is pointing at old extension  (Read 1003 times)

Offline thebravedave

• View Profile

Hello, I am new to Mitel phones.
I was not in charge of the phone system, but an employee quit and now they put me in charge of it.
I did not set up our phone system.
We have an auto attendant, and one of the options is to choose an extension by the first 3 letters of their first name.
This was set up by someone else (after reading through a ton of info online still can't figure out how it works).
One of our staff member's Mitel 5320 phones died and I replaced it with a spare we have.  His extension was x104 now it is x118.  His phone works just fine, incoming calls go to his phone, and voicemails get added to his voicemail extension that he can check.

When someone calls the auto attendant and gets employee by first 3 letters of the first name for our staff member who was @ 104 and now is @ 118
the person calling in gets directed to x104 instead of x118.
Obviously I need to change his extension in the "Dian by Name" system.
I don't know how this works though and reading through a ton of manuals online did not help.
Can someone help me figure this out?

Thanks!!!

Offline DND ON

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Dial by name is based on the mailbox name. Was mailbox 104 deleted?

Why would you change someone's extension number because their phone died? That makes no sense.

Offline Tech Electronics

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
thebravedave,

Well, I have to agree with DND ON in why did you change their extension number from 104 to 118? Regardless, if the mailbox is associated with a phone, meaning the extension and the mailbox have the same number, then you just need to change the name on the old extension 104.

Go to System > Devices and Feature Codes > Phones

Look for 104 in the list and in the Description Field you will see the persons name in the this format: lastname, firstname