Author Topic: Connecting Mitel phones over a VPN  (Read 6421 times)

Offline Its_Me!

• Contributer
    • View Profile
Connecting Mitel phones over a VPN
« on: September 26, 2018, 04:59:28 AM »
Hi folks,
I am a newbie to this forum and relatively new to the world of Mitel!
I am endeavouring to extend the reach of my company's Mitel phone system to a remote location where I had hoped to install six 'minimalist' Mitel 5201 IP phones.
I have selected this phone because they'll be in guest accommodation rooms, and thus, there is a desire for them to look as 'non-business like' as possible.
I have successfully established a VPN between a Draytek Vigor 2920 at the remote site and a Draytek Vigor 3900 at the main site where the 3300 PABX is located.
The remote LAN will be purely for these phones and no other devices.
Using a Mitel 5215 as a test phone (so that I get some feedback from its LCD display), and with options 128-130 set in the remote router's DHCP server settings; the 5215 picks up a local IP from the pool, and gets as far as displaying 'TFTP: Main', followed a short while later by 'Contacting Server'.
I have tried setting options 125 and 43 but the phone will only use 128+ from the remote site, although the very same test phone uses 125 at the main site.
Unfortunately, the Vigor 2920 has a character limit for individual DHCP options, and I am unable to input the full string for option 125 or 43.
If I set a local static IP address on the 5215 at the remote site, and specify the TFTP port, TFTP Server and ICP address of the 3300 PABX, it completes boot up, assumes the assigned extension number, and works perfectly in both directions.
The issue is, I have now learned that the 5201 handsets (and some others) are purely DHCP only?
Is there any possible way, by configuring features on one or both Draytek routers and/or the PABX i.e. by binding MAC addesses to IPs; NAT config etc, that I can operate these phones via DHCP over the VPN?