Author Topic: MBG configuration for SIP trunking  (Read 4843 times)

Offline Ronan

• View Profile
MBG configuration for SIP trunking
« on: June 25, 2018, 05:42:51 AM »
Hello, this is my first time configuring an MBG, and SIP trunk to a SIP provider. I've already configured a SIP trunk from a 3300 to a Cisco CUCM without much trouble.

My colleagues dealing with the network expect a configuration like this : 3300 ICP on internal network ------ MBG ------- routers from the SIP provider. These routers are dedicated to the SIP trunk, there is no other data, no teleworker, etc.

From what I gather in Mitel's doc, I must configure the MBG with a LAN and a WAN interface. When I have just one LAN interface configured and go into the SIP trunk menu, it clearly states I need a WAN interface.

Problem is, when I configure the WAN interface, then I can only assign a Gateway to it, that replaces the Gateway configured on the LAN interface. Consequently, I can't connect to the MBG anymore, as that WAN interface is only routed to the SIP routers (that aren't even online yet).

In the doc I find that in server-Gateway configuration the WAN IP address must be reachable from the Internet and the internal network. It kinda makes sense for a teleworker application, but for what I'm doing, not really. I expect the MBG to be the Gateway between these two. SIP provider doesn't see or care about my internal network, and internal network doesn't see or care about the SIP provider. I even envisioned to connect the WAN interface with a cable directly to the SIP router.

Can you confirm that I'm understanding things right and should get the network guys to route the two networks towards each other ?

Regards

Offline acejavelin

• Global Moderator
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: MBG configuration for SIP trunking
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 11:18:12 AM »