Author Topic: IP Phone Offsite  (Read 3800 times)

Offline Camoron

• View Profile
IP Phone Offsite
« on: October 01, 2015, 05:02:55 PM »
I am new to setting up IP phones offsite. I know you need to enter the ICP IP and the TFTP server IP (these are the phone system generally), but I've never set one up offsite before except when connecting to a phone system with a public IP. I was just wondering if there was an easy way to do this, as I am currently thinking we will need to either 1. Request an additional Public IP from the ISP for the client and use it for the phone system, or 2. Request an additional Public IP from the ISP for the client and use it for one-to-one NAT with the phone system on a private IP. I believe another option would be to use a VPN, but the client doesn't plan on setting one up as far as I know (they have one worker who will be in the UK using their IP phone offsite without a VPN). Any tips?

Thanks.

Offline IPInstaller

• View Profile
Re: IP Phone Offsite
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2015, 03:36:43 AM »
Hi.

We always use a NAT public IP address and open the required ports on the corporate firewall, or use an MBG preferably. The remote/client public IP doesn't have any bearing, as long as the corporate firewall allows the connection.

As long as you open the below ports (for 53xx IP phones) you should be ok.

68, 69 and 20001 (UDP)
6800–6802 (TCP)
3998 and 3999 (TCP)
5004–5007 (UDP)
50098–50508 (UDP)
6004–6261 (UDP)
6604–7039 (UDP)

Hope it works.
IPI.

Offline Kingdomfire

• Contributer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2015, 05:56:45 AM »
Another option is a P2P VPN.

MBG and VPN's offer security that a simple NAT translation won't. Maybe worth looking into!

If you're connecting a phone at someone's house then the VPN may not be an option because of poor home routers. May also be an issue with the ports though.

MBG and teleworker works a treat. We have many sites connecting back to their head office PBX through a single MBG!