Author Topic: Send 4 Digits to PRI  (Read 3344 times)

Offline hriaz

• View Profile
Send 4 Digits to PRI
« on: January 23, 2015, 06:54:39 PM »
Hello,

I know this might be a basic question for some of the guys here but i am really hoping someone can help out giving me some directions. I am really new to Mitel and have no clue how to even navigate the system so please bear my ignorance.

We currently have a Mitel 5000 connected via a PRI. When users press "Outgoing" button they are able to dial 10/11 digits without requiring 9 for outside line. I need some directions on how to configure/update the dial plan so when users press "Outgoing" button and dial 4 digits, even those are sent to the T1 PRI. The Mitel does have a second PRI port thats unused, preferably If we can configure the second port to send 4 digits out that would be ideal. Also would using the second port require an additional license?

For those who would ask me why 4 digits to PRI since it will fail, I have the Mitel connected via PRI to a Cisco 2921 which connects to PSTN. So I need 4 digits from Mitel coming to the Cisco router so I can route to other sites. Any help would be appreciated, any directions would be very very helpful.

Thank you

Offline 619Tech

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Send 4 Digits to PRI
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2015, 07:35:38 PM »
By pressing the "Outgoing" button, the endpoints are dialing out whatever is in the "Outgoing Extension" field in the endpoints "Associated Extensions". This is usually a trunk group or ARS. In defaulted systems, "8" does the same thing. Sounds like your system may be using "9" instead of "8".