Author Topic: Whenever an outside line calls in the recipient cannot hear audio.  (Read 5582 times)

Offline HelpDeskGuy

• View Profile
I need help this problem has been plaguing us for a few weeks now.

I'm the Help Desk guy at our office, and this task has been placed on me because the IT manager quit and the sys admin is busy with other things. I'm no VOIP Expert, so I could really use a hand as to what might be the issue.

We have a satellite office located a state away, everything in the main office is working just fine. The satellite office connects to us VIA a VPN via a Fortigate Firewall. Recently the satellite office changed its ISP, and ever since then whenever an outside line calls in to their phones the person receiving the call can hear no audio, the caller can hear. If a call is placed from an inside line, everything works fine. If  somebody in the satellite office calls out to an outside line, everything works fine.

From research I've heard this is most likely a routing issue, but I have almost no documentation at all on the Teleworker 3300, I don't know what to look for.

When I called one support line they asked me to do a packet capture from that location, but I barely know what I'm supposed to be looking for, and when I do the packet cap and filter it so only traffic going to this phones IP address is shown, there just isn't any real information there, basically just shows my phone chatting with his phone. The other strange part is, if I do a packet cap on say my co workers phone right next to me, and isolate to his address I get a ton more information.

I'll happily share any information needed, but I could really use a hand here. This has been frustrating me very much, and I am pretty green having only been working in an enterprise environment for 1 year now, doing mostly desktop support and helpdesk issues.

Thank you so much for reading.

Online ralph

• Mitel Forums Admin
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile