Author Topic: Eavesdropping through Mitel 6867i??  (Read 4546 times)

Offline sheila

• View Profile
Eavesdropping through Mitel 6867i??
« on: February 19, 2018, 09:48:22 AM »
Needing help. I have limited technical knowledge and must rely on staff to ensure everything is properly set up and maintained. There have been suspicions that the administrator over our VOIP system could be eavesdropping on conversations. Is there a way on the user's end to know if this is happening??  I know the option is there as we monitor our customer service agent calls.  My question is; can this employee monitor any phones within the company?  Are there signs one can see if this is the case?  Also, other than actual phone calls, can the speakerphones be activated remotely by the administrator in order to hear conversations within a particular office?  I'm looking for technical answers to help w/ my investigation of these allegations.  Thank you for any help you can give!

Offline dilkie

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Eavesdropping through Mitel 6867i??
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2018, 09:57:43 AM »
if this person is the MiVB admin, yes, they can set up silent monitoring for any phone.

but no, there's no way to monitor a phone that isn't in a call.

Mind you, the admin could set your phone up to auto-answer and call in and it's just be a speakerphone at that point.. The display would should you in a call but if no-one heard the answer tone or noticed the display, well...

You need to have trust in your admins, they have a lot of power.

Offline dilkie

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2018, 09:58:56 AM »
Actually... I take that back, just noticed you said 6867... so that sip and you didn't say what call control, I was assuming MiVB but if it isn't... I don't know the answer.

Offline dilkie

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2018, 10:01:58 AM »
but I'm still correct about having admins you can trust.

:)