Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: Mitel 3300 and Cisco QoS  (Read 10452 times)

grtechguy

  • Guest
Mitel 3300 and Cisco QoS
« on: July 06, 2010, 01:34:23 PM »
Good afternoon,

I am looking for some suggestions on QoS with the Mitel 3300 and Cisco devices (3560 catalyst switches) connected with an MPLS network

We have connectivity and everything is "working",   yet we are struggling with the QoS since leaving our old VOIP system.

Is there anyone that could assist with a proper QoS setup? or a least point me in the right direction?

Thanks


Offline Mitel100

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 260
  • Country: gb
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 3300 and Cisco QoS
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2010, 02:56:24 PM »
QOS is a big subject.

1 - What problems are you having with QOS?
2 - What QOS priorities have you set on the 3300 to relate to the network?

Many thanks

grtechguy

  • Guest
Re: Mitel 3300 and Cisco QoS
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2010, 03:59:31 PM »
QOS is a big subject.

1 - What problems are you having with QOS?
2 - What QOS priorities have you set on the 3300 to relate to the network?

Many thanks

We are getting stuttering and static intermittently.          as for QoS priorities,   can we assume a blank slate at this time?

Offline v2win

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 3300 and Cisco QoS
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2010, 09:24:17 PM »
Are the issues on LAN call or WAN calls or both?

Offline Chakara

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • Kyle Petree
Re: Mitel 3300 and Cisco QoS
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2010, 12:39:41 AM »
  The problem is likely on the WAN - not knowing the size of your organization - I'd guess that only site to site calls see the issue.  If that is so, we need more information on your MPLS and the traffic that crosses it.  Typically we find that if you set up good QoS on the entry and exit points of the MPLS that is enough - but sometimes it requires cooperation with the MPLS provider to get it working right.

  I doubt that QoS on the switches will help - unless you see the issue on calls within a site.....

-Chak

Offline Chakara

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • Kyle Petree
Re: Mitel 3300 and Cisco QoS
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2010, 01:04:42 AM »
  As a related note, you need to make sure what is being done on your routers is the same as what the telco is doing.  The nature of MPLS requires them to match.  They need to match both the queues you define,  percentages and the tagging...

  -Chak

« Last Edit: July 07, 2010, 01:08:20 AM by Chakara »

Offline bobcheese

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 435
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 3300 and Cisco QoS
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2010, 04:05:02 AM »
moving away from QoS for a second, have you tried compressing the calls between sites?

grtechguy

  • Guest
Re: Mitel 3300 and Cisco QoS
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2010, 08:30:52 AM »
to answer a couple questions....

1.  This is affecting calls across the WAN (8 sites)

2.  Not a true MPLS,  but rather something called VES (Virtual Ethernet Service) it behaves as a mesh network.    Everything is controlled through us, not provider

3.  We are using a port on the switches for routing into the WAN, only our core site has a true router (the we would like to get away from)


Below is a "boxed" response from the WAN provider and I'm not sure if it's too much or irrelevant to the mitel system

class-map match-any PREMIUM
 match ip dscp ef
 match ip dscp cs5
 exit
class-map match-any CRITICAL
 match ip dscp af31
 match ip dscp af32
 match ip dscp af33
 match ip dscp cs3
 match ip dscp cs6
 exit
class-map match-any BUSINESS
 match ip dscp af11
 match ip dscp af12
 match ip dscp af13
 match ip dscp af21
 match ip dscp af22
 match ip dscp af23
 match ip dscp cs2
 exit

policy-map QOS-CE-CLASS-A
 class PREMIUM
  priority percent 35
 class CRITICAL
  bandwidth percent 25
  random-detect dscp-based
 class BUSINESS
  bandwidth percent 15
  random-detect dscp-based
 class class-default
  fair-queue 
  random-detect
  exit
 exit

This would need to be placed on the outbound facing interface.

service-policy output QOS-CE-CLASS-A
 

Offline Chakara

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • Kyle Petree
Re: Mitel 3300 and Cisco QoS
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2010, 11:48:01 PM »
  I would think you could simplify this tremendously.  Make sure you set priority in you DHCP scope for the phones.  And your right, bind it on the outbound interface of all connections to the cloud.

  Now, I'm kind of assuming you have a Metropolitan Ethernet Network as your WAN.  That would imply layer 2 between all sites.  If you have more of an MPLS service then you need to go back to what they gave you - adding the match priority 6 to the PREMIUM.  This is because your QoS must match your providers QoS.

  Hope this helps....




class-map match-any VOICE
 match ip dscp ef
 match priority 6
 exit

policy-map QOS-VOICE
 class VOICE
  priority percent 35
 
 class class-default
  fair-queue 
  random-detect
  exit
 exit


 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9