Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: Remote phones how d they connect  (Read 8940 times)

Offline StarLog

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Remote phones how d they connect
« on: January 18, 2010, 07:08:06 PM »
All the phones on the 5000 system connectto the ICP just fine.

But when I leave the building and take one of the phones say a 5340 to my home.
How do I or what process is needed to setup the programming for it
to connct to the office.  Keep in mind the system goeslive on Tuesday tomorrow.

So after that, I should hav more info.


Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5296
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: Remote phones how d they connect
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2010, 08:11:12 AM »
On any IP system, doesn't matter Mitel, Avaya,  Nortel, ShoreTel  - etc, etc,
The phone must be able to reach the controller to work.   How this is done depends on the manufacturer but on a Mitel you need some type of gateway to do this.  The gateway allows an external device access into your private network, i.e. the network your phones are on.   
Another way to do this is to set up a VPN between whatever network you are on and your private network.   

In general, if your controller has an IP address that starts with 192.168   or starts with a 10, you won't be able to do what you are trying to do with out a gateway.    I'm not sure on this since I'm a 3300 tech (not 5000) I think you will need to add a Mitel Border Gateway controller.

Ralph
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 04:28:50 PM by ralph »

Offline StarLog

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remote phones how d they connect
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2010, 07:39:53 PM »
Ralph,

Thanks, kinda thought so.
I have a Juniper SSG320 firewall, working on the config to allow all the required ports to access the ICP.

Will post what I can when I get this working.
Also, the email gateway settings are causing me a minor headache, for sending
email notifications.

I use an internal smtp relay agent on one of my servers, because our Exchange is on a cloud service.

Offline StarLog

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remote phones how d they connect
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2010, 06:18:47 PM »
We finally got this working today.
I will write a help document for Juniper firewall users.

Offline Chakara

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • Kyle Petree
Re: Remote phones how d they connect
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2010, 10:03:31 PM »
  Sweet StarLog - looking forward to seeing it!

-Chak

mitelman

  • Guest
Re: Remote phones how d they connect
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2010, 11:18:26 PM »
The 5000 supports NAT'ing with the IP phones.  It has to be a 1 to 1 NAT.  We have this working on a Juniper SSG20 as well.  I will post the port configs tomorrow when I get back into the office.

Offline StarLog

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remote phones how d they connect
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2011, 03:36:07 PM »
Somehow I totally forgot to follow up on this.

The email forwarder we are using is from Mady MTA service, it sits on any PC in the domain.
www.ocloudsoft.com

On our 5312 IP Phones, I have setup the following.

MAC ADDRESS:
PHONE IP ADDRESS:  0.0.0.0
DEFAULT GATEWAY IP: 0.0.0.0
SUBNET MASK: 0.0.0.0
CUR CONTROLLER IP:  EXTERNAL PUBLIC IP
ICP1 IP ADDRESS:  EXTERNAL PUBLIC IP
ICP2 IP ADDRESS:  0.0.0.0
ICP3 IP ADDRESS: 0.0.0.0
ICP4 IP ADDRESS: 0.0.0.0
TFTP SVR IP ADDRESS: EXTERNAL PUBLIC IP
VLAN ID: None
L2 PRIORITY: None
DSCP: None
IPA IP ADDRESS: ICP PRIVATE IP
DNS1 IP ADDRESS: 0.0.0.0
DNS2 IP ADDRESS: 0.0.0.0

I have our system on VLAN 99, and such the phones look to the DHCP server for help.


 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9