Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: 3300 integration  (Read 9703 times)

Offline ccboe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
3300 integration
« on: September 15, 2009, 09:22:46 AM »
We just installed a mitel 3300.

I have it installed in my data center using a pri. The phones are spread out across my wan. This part works great.

In a remote school, I want to connect the bogen paging system and the mitel phone system. This way a teacher can make and receive calls on the handset in the classroom.

The bogen has 8 fxs ports.

Presently, I have a 4 port multi tech voip gateway acting as a SIP phone with four ports going to the bogen. Calls can be made from one system to the other (but not consistantly).
If you do connect the call is clear.

Once I introduce an outside call, the intercom side sounds like morse code.

Is there a good/better way to do this?

I would also like to be able for the teachers to take advantage of voice mail. Have not really seen how this will happen. The bogen would just dump back to the multi voip "phone" with no ext of where it came from.

If there is anything else I need to provide, please ask and I will do my best to get you the answer (as I am a newbie to phone systems)

Thanks
Tom



Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5296
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2009, 11:07:20 AM »
I'm not quite following.   
Are the teachers using Mitel phones or something off the Multi tech.

If using a Mitel phone you can page through it and use voice mail.
Can you give a little more detail?    If the phones are analog lines running off the FXS ports then perhaps I can suggest using a different SIP to analog device to make the phone run directly off the 3300.

Ralph


« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 03:34:25 PM by ralph »

Offline ccboe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2009, 11:19:52 AM »
Sorry for the confussion.

Teachers have an analog phone that is tied into the bogen paging system. I have one in every classroom.

I want them to be able to use the analog phone on the bogen system to call an outside number through the mitel system.

Thanks
Tom

Offline ccboe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2009, 11:20:49 AM »
the milti tech box is what I'm trying to use to tie the systems together

thanks
Tom

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5296
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2009, 11:59:29 AM »
Didn't know a Bogan could do that.   Can you provide a model number of the Bogan?  I'd like to see the specs.   My first thought is that the Bogan is only used for paging.   Can't use it to call at all, but I've been suprised many, many times before.

Ralph
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 03:34:41 PM by ralph »

Offline ccboe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2009, 12:53:14 PM »
I have a quantum multicom ip (rack)

http://www.bogen-es.com/quantum/

Thanks
Tom
« Last Edit: September 15, 2009, 12:57:05 PM by ccboe »

Offline ccboe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2009, 11:27:21 PM »
i think this is what is in the bogen
http://www.bogen-es.com/multicom/documentation/docs/MCTCs.pdf

thanks again for the help
tom

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5296
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2009, 09:34:58 AM »
I do think there is a better way of doing this.
If I understand this correctly, you have bogan system generally used for paging that also has the capabilities of connecting CO ports that can be routed to extensions in class rooms.   The class room phones also connect to the bogan.
You use the a Multitech SIP to analog converter to connect as co turks to the bogan but actually are just extension off of your Mitel.
Try this:
Edited July-15-2012: See the store for more on GrandStream's analog adapter
This is a single line SIP to analog converter would bypass all that and go straight to your 3300 giving you VM for these phones.
We've had good success with these and their cheap.

Ralph
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 03:35:02 PM by ralph »

Offline ccboe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2009, 03:19:49 PM »
Yes the multitech box is just like a phone on the mitel side. In mitel, it is setup as a sip phone. On a mitel phone, you call ext 7001. This dumps you to the bogen box and you can call a room.

What is the difference between the grandstream and the multitech?

not sure if i'm explaining it right. let me draw a map up.

Thanks
Tom

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5296
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2009, 03:41:29 PM »
Quote
What is the difference between the grandstream and the multitech?
Probably nothing other than getting it off the Bogan.

Ralph

Offline ccboe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2009, 03:47:23 PM »
getting it off the bogen????

do you think I shoud sip off the bogen and analog to the mitel??

unless the grandstream does something other than the multitech... not sure how it helps

sorry to be a pain just trying to understand

http://www2.cook.k12.ga.us/bogenmitel.png

thanks
tom

« Last Edit: September 16, 2009, 03:52:08 PM by ccboe »

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5296
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2009, 04:05:45 PM »
I guess I don't understand what the Bogan is doing for you.   I'm only thinking that the grandstream would give you voice mail and perhaps clean up your adio.  

Just saw the map.  Need a chance to look a little closer.

Ralph

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5296
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2009, 04:08:16 PM »
How many class room phones are we talking about here?

Ralph

Offline ccboe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2009, 08:43:49 PM »
guess 60-70

Offline Chakara

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • Kyle Petree
Re: 3300 integration
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2009, 09:21:29 PM »
  I know that Multitech has a Mitel qualification as a SIP endpoint.  I have used them with Multitech's on both sides of the link with pretty good success.  

  The fact you are getting some call through this system implies that you are close to having it working.  What version of 3300 code are you running?  There are LOTs of SIP fixes in all the later releases....

  How saturated is the fiber link?  Do you have QoS for the VoIP over it?

-Chak


 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9