Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: Connecting NSU  (Read 8321 times)

Offline Tnobrien

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Connecting NSU
« on: August 25, 2009, 03:16:31 PM »
It's been about 2 years since I connected my NSU's to my ICP, so I know I've forgotten something.

I've got 3300 LX R. 7

Controller Module Configuration

Module Programmed Module Type Installed Module Type
1 Dual FIM Dual FIM
2 Dual FIM Dual FIM
3 Dual Framer Dual Framer
4 No Module Programmed No Module Present


Network Services Unit Configuration

Unit Unit Type Controller Module Port Programmed Type Protocol Comment
5 Primary Network Services Unit 1 1 3300 Universal NSU Universal T1 USLEC PRI
6 Primary Network Services Unit 1 2 3300 Universal NSU Universal T1 QWEST T1D4
9 Primary Network Services Unit 2 2 3300 Universal NSU Universal T1 AT&T


Message Link Dipswitch settings:

Message Link (UP)

I connected the Fiber Optic Cable TX-RX and RX-TX. 

When I boot up the NSU and watch with a maintenance PC, I get Bootstrap errors.  If I need to, I can post those but I think I could have missed something.  Specifically, our system and all components originally shipped with an earlier release than 7.x.  Do I need to somehow update my software on the NSU to R. 7?




Offline Tnobrien

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2009, 03:55:49 PM »
Actually, I found it by accident.  The Tech handbook said I only needed to program the Network Services Unit Configuration form.  I did, but that still didn't get it.  I went ahead with the other forms to program the span and now I can connect.  Maybe it was the Digital Trunk Assignment form.

Offline Tnobrien

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2009, 04:39:24 PM »
Well, the bootstrap error is not occurring, but I now get the following error when the NSU boots up:

cd'd to /flash/
Loading vxworks ...open succeeded,  fd=4
1041424 + 109500 + 952996
Starting at 0x2001000...

Attached TCP/IP interface to qu unit 0
Attaching interface lo0...done

Adding 4705 symbols for standalone.


                 VxWorks

Copyright 1984-1998  Wind River Systems, Inc.

            CPU: MC272BA
        VxWorks: 5.4
    BSP version: 4.2/2
  Creation date: Feb  9 2006
            WDB: Ready.

flash,c:/,xqt,b_loader.cmd
MBAR:f000000
SSDRV:c:/ mounted with options 0x0
Copyright (c) 1993-1996 Wind River Systems, Inc. All rights reserved
ver: 2.6 FCS

Disk Check In Progress ...


        total disk space (bytes) :                    7,225,344
        bytes in each allocation unit :               2,048
        total allocation units on disk :              3,528
        bad allocation units :                        0
        available bytes on disk :                     1,892,352
        available clusters on disk :                  924
        maximum available contiguous chain (bytes) :  1,892,352
        available space fragmentation (%) :           0
        clusters allocated :                          2,604
Done Checking Disk.
Change to FLASH DIR: c:/
Started ppp1 listener task,  tid 0x2dd3398
listening for ppp
SSXSPART.c:Loading FPGA file: rev2fpga.bin
...........
SSXSPART.c:Xilinx File Obtained, Sum 22344
NAME: pri_fpga_top.ncd
PART: s20pq208
DATE: 1999/12/22
TIME: 13:29:54
SIZE: 22268 bytes.
Correct clock count = 178137.

Config data ends on bit 8


fpga download completed successfully.
SSXSPART.c:Xilinx Loaded OK
Card Type is MC272BA
SS: Starting POST FPGA...
FPGA REV. = 2
SS: Starting POST MDX...
SS: Starting POST Framer...
    Framer 0: MT9074 JET (T1)
    Framer 1: MT9074 JET (T1)
SS: POST2 PASSED...
Loading "b_loader.o"
b_loader.o loaded ok
SSAPP: Found Function _b_loader()
Spawning tbloader 160 0 32000 0x2dc9782
Spawned task id: 47999840
SS: SS_StartupTask Complete!
SS: Card's Datetag found: Dt: NSU_PRI 9-FEB-2006 16:2 [VER-1.6.0.11]
SS: Comparing datetags...
SS: Card's Tag : Dt: NSU_PRI 9-FEB-2006 16:2 [VER-1.6.0.11]
SS: Load's Tag : Dt: NSU_PRI 9-FEB-2006 16:2 [VER-1.6.0.11]
Loading "libMiLib.out"
                      libMiLib.out loaded ok
                                            Loading "FrmDrv.out"
                                                                FrmDrv.out loade
d ok
    Loading "naframer.o"
                        naframer.o loaded ok
                                            Loading "pri_sx2k.o"
                                                                pri_sx2k.o loade
d ok
    SSAPP: Found Function _ngmain()
                                    Spawning tNgMain 130 0 32000 0x2adb05e
                                                                          | INFO
  GW   | 70/01/01 00:00:00 | ---start-------------------------------------------
------- [ngstart.cpp @ 140] | 1234
Logfile scan stopped at position 426  curr_stamp_num = 3  stamp_num = 3
| INFO  GW   | 70/01/01 00:00:00 | Dt: NSU_PRI 9-FEB-2006 [VER-1.6.0.11] [ngstar
t.cpp @ 159] | 1234
| WARN  GW   | 70/01/01 00:00:00 | First missing database file found:  ./bearcap
.dba . . . cannot start Gateway.  Waiting for DB download [ngdbase.cpp @ 4293] |
 1234
Spawned task id: 44936416
fdSlave2 = 14   fdMaster2 = 15

Offline Tnobrien

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2009, 04:58:20 PM »
I went ahead and swapped out the NSU.

Offline Tnobrien

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2009, 08:10:06 AM »
That got it.  Something appears to be corrupted on the DB of the NSU.

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5297
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2009, 11:31:20 AM »
Looks like you'll have to re-flash the NSU.

Ralph
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 08:25:46 AM by ralph »

Offline v2win

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2009, 11:36:07 AM »
It looks like it is waiting for an IMAT database to be downloaded to the NSU.

Offline Tnobrien

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2009, 01:26:15 PM »
That's probably it, but I can't connect with IMAt if there's no IP and I can't use IMAT if it won't boot up so something went South.  If this ever comes up again with someone else I can research some more, but for now I'm good.  Thanks.

Offline Tnobrien

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2009, 04:39:31 PM »
Not the same issue, but I didn't see starting another thread.

I have an NSU FIM connected to a 3300 ICP R.7.

L0 is connected to an active Ni2 PRI from the carrier with a CAT5 crossover cable.

If I loop back to the NSU, the alarm clears.

If I loop back to the smartjack, the alarm clears.

When I go normal through, there's a red alarm on the NSU and on the smart jack (showing RLOS)

I programmed the following on the 3300:

Link Descriptor Assignment (B Message Control, ISDN Node, ADI Voice Encoding, B8ZS and ESF)
Digital Link Assignment Form
MSDN-DPNSS... (Universal T1, Toll Office)


I configured a new IMAT DB for all the same options - NI2, 5ESS variant, ESF, B8ZS

What am I missing?



Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2009, 05:04:20 PM by Tnobrien »

Offline Chakara

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • Kyle Petree
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2009, 08:24:57 PM »
  Not to be obvious - but when I hook to telco I usually use straight through Ethernet cable.  Also T1 and Ethernet crossover are not the same.

Offline v2win

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2009, 09:39:44 PM »
Also you can flip switch 6 (i think) on the back and it will change it from NT to LT so you dont have to change your cable.

The default IP address on an NSU is 192.168.1.1

Offline Tnobrien

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2009, 08:13:26 AM »
Chakara,
  Strange thing.  The same carrier (and the same installer for that matter) installed 3 cards in the smart jack.  The first one I turned up 3 weeks ago with a T1 cross over cable.  The other 2 (including the one in this thread) is straight through.  Thanks for the tip.

Offline Chakara

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • Kyle Petree
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2009, 09:54:23 PM »
  LOL - nothing like consistency!

-Chak

Offline alejonomada

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: ve
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2015, 09:35:06 AM »
Also you can flip switch 6 (i think) on the back and it will change it from NT to LT so you dont have to change your cable.

The default IP address on an NSU is 192.168.1.1

hiu i need help, how i can change the IP of my R2 NSU??

Offline lundah

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 509
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +12/-0
  • Senior Chief Grunt
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting NSU
« Reply #14 on: February 26, 2015, 11:42:48 AM »
Connect to the serial port on the front using 38400bps, 8-N-1. When you power it up you will get the POST test, then a 7 second countdown before VxWorks loads, press the space bar 3 times to stop that countdown, then change the boot options by entering "c" at the prompt. After you've made the desired changes and verified ("p" to print the boot values), press "@" to load using the new boot options. Basically the same procedure to change the 3300 boot options, since it's also a VxWorks machine.


 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9