Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration  (Read 53965 times)

Offline cmeilleur

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« on: June 27, 2012, 05:23:48 PM »
Hey all.  I Am new to Mitel products, and am attempting to set up 3 Mitel 5330 phones in SIP mode for a customer that requires Mitel phones for political purposes. 

Now, I work for a VoiP service provider, so IP telephony is nothing new to me.  However, i can't get a grasp on this Mitel phone, lol.

I have gotten the phone to connect to out TFTP server, no problems there.  However, When trying to log into the phones web ui via http all I get is a page asking for a tftp server address.  (image attatched)  Also to note that the phone is attempting to download sip5340ttnlang_en_US.bin from out tftp server, which i don't have / can't find. 

When trying to Telnet to the phone, i get " Invalid userId/Password ".  where would telnet user info be input, and how can i get the Web page for the phone to come up.  the software load on this phone reads out as:

R8.0.04.00.01.09
BOOT 04.00.01.09

Thanks a million to anyone that can shed some light on this for me.

Warm Regards,

Chris Meilleur
« Last Edit: August 11, 2012, 02:30:24 PM by ralph »


Offline acejavelin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2644
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +62/-0
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2012, 08:53:00 PM »
This might help: http://edocs.mitel.com/UG/EN/5320_5330_5340_SIP%208.0_UG_EN.pdf

I am in a unique position where I work that half my time is spent with "traditional" telephone equipment (Mitel, ESI, Avaya) and half is spent working as a system administrator of a Broadsoft Broadworks SIP platform... I spent many hours trying to get the Mitel phones to work properly in SIP mode and was about 90% successful and then hit a wall and finally gave up, I was able to get voice calls, msg waiting, and most platform features to work, but BLF List functions and few other things are just not possible with Mitel's implementation of SIP. It has been a couple years since I did any work with them so I don't know how much I can help, but I did everything from the above document, Google, and some config guides I found on various websites (that I unfortunately do not have bookmarked anymore).
« Last Edit: June 27, 2012, 08:56:18 PM by acejavelin »

Offline cmeilleur

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2012, 10:22:01 PM »
Thanks ace for that.  I didn't have the V8 edoc. That being said, I am still no further ahead.  I think that the phone failing to find that sip5340ttnlang_en_US.bin file is what is causing me grief.  The Manuals all point to the web configuration tool, when it is not present.  I think the phone needs that BIN first.  One indication that leads me to this conclusion is the we page that comes up when i browse to the phone.   it says "Please select and download your language."  I have it set to English.  As a test I am changing it to "Franch" ( I LOL'd a little at  that one, being as it is my 2nd language).  The TFTP server got a request for sip5340ttnlang_fr_FR.bin.

Any one know where i can get this BIN from?  I read somewhere that we need to get it from the reseller that sold us the phones, but they are clueless.  Interesting that they don't know what I am referring to when Mitel is one of their biggest products.

Regards,

Chris Meilleur



Offline acejavelin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2644
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +62/-0
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2012, 11:30:03 PM »
Yeah, its coming back to me slowly now... you will need to load the actual firmware file via TFTP prior to getting much further... Mitel no longer publicly provides SIP firmware since the shutdown of http://sipdnld.mitel.com a few years ago, but the last public released version was v8.0.0.4 and I am pretty sure it contains everything you will need for any Mitel dual mode phone. It can be found here:

http://www.4shared.com/zip/R6pEpX28/MitelSIPphones_8004.html

Also, voip-info.org can get some more information using SIP mode on these phones, try starting here: http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Mitel+Phones

EDIT: I can probably dig up the Broadworks-Mitel Interop document if you think it will help, there is a lot of BW specific info in there, but it might help if you are looking to auto-config sets via some type of provisioning server, just let me know.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2012, 11:43:51 PM by acejavelin »

Offline cmeilleur

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2012, 12:05:35 AM »
Thanks again ace.  Unfortunately the download does not contain files for the 53XX phones, only 3000 and 52XX.  I do have the Broadsoft partner config guide.  Is that what you are referring to. 

The Ultimate endgame here is to get the phones online and registered, using config files if possible from either our tftp server or our web provisioning server.  However, i cant seem to get the config files right.  Even using the MN_xxxXXXxxxXXX.cfg and MN_Generic configs with base settings, i cant get t he phone to even attempt sip auth to the PBX.




Offline acejavelin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2644
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +62/-0
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2012, 12:14:22 AM »
Yeah... I didn't realize there were actually THREE separate archives for firmware when I remoted into my laptop at work, sorry about that. Try these, they also come from the old sipdnld.mitel.com public site:

Mitel 5312/5324 SIP Firmware - http://www.4shared.com/zip/2vT43v9g/MitelSIP_IP5312_24_2111.html
Mitel 5330/5340 SIP Firmware - http://www.4shared.com/zip/_O9c55Fh/MitelSIP_IP5330_40_16013.html

And yes, the documentation I was referring to was the Broadsoft Partner config guide... Are you planning on connecting these to Broadsoft platform? If so, we might need to talk more offline.

I had a horrible time getting these phones to talk to the profile server and pull down the files and actually connect properly and register, the ones I got working I had to setup manually, then pull the files from the phone, manually edit them and substitute Broadworks tags and then build the device management files myself, it was a nightmare!
« Last Edit: June 28, 2012, 12:40:19 AM by acejavelin »

Offline cmeilleur

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2012, 08:55:58 AM »
Ace, you are a hero ;).  Got the FW on the phones and finally have a web UI.  i should have em online today. i will update.  As far as Broadworks goes, I and provisioning these to use an Asterisk.

Offline acejavelin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2644
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +62/-0
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2012, 11:54:03 AM »
Awesome! Glad I was able to help, if you need anything else let me know and I will assist if I can.

Offline mclaborn

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2012, 05:21:49 PM »
cmeilleur and or acejavelin - can you provide any more details?  I have the same problem.  Can't find file sip5340ttnlang_en_US.bin.  That file does not appear in the http://www.4shared.com/zip/_O9c55Fh/MitelSIP_IP5330_40_16013.html download.  I am able to get my phones registered, but only by coding config files and putting the on the TFTP server - there is only the minimal web interface showing.


Offline cmeilleur

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2012, 08:22:08 PM »
I still have the Files locally if you'd like i can upload them.


Offline sumit_kumar

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2012, 02:04:30 AM »
cmeilleur and or acejavelin - I have the same problem but i can't find the solution. can you plz give me more details

« Last Edit: November 02, 2012, 08:16:29 AM by ralph »

Offline acejavelin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2644
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +62/-0
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #11 on: November 02, 2012, 08:21:20 AM »
cmeilleur and or acejavelin - I have the same problem but i can't find the solution. can you plz give me more details
I am sorry, more details about what? The firmware and documentation are listed above, what exactly is it you need more details about?

Offline freewilly

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2013, 11:29:36 AM »
I still have the Files locally if you'd like i can upload them.

cmeilleur,

I have  a 5324, I can't find  sip5324ttnlang_en_US.bin anywhere. Would you please send the file to me if you have, I know  yours is 5340.

Please...

Offline cmeilleur

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2013, 01:07:57 PM »
i dont see the en_us file in there, but i think it only needs the additional language files to change the language from default.  .  It seems to be the file structure for the 5330/5340 and the 5312 / 5324 are similar, and neither of them include that file.  The only files i have are the ones linked to above on 4shared.

Offline freewilly

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 5330 Handsets and SIP configuration
« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2013, 01:26:18 PM »
Thanks for reply.

Here is my is output from Tftpd32(by Ph. Jounin)

Connection received from 10.1.1.169 on port 49160 [10/01 01:13:18.280]
Read request for file <MN_Generic.cfg>. Mode octet [10/01 01:13:18.280]
OACK: <blksize=4096,> [10/01 01:13:18.280]
Using local port 56963 [10/01 01:13:18.280]
<MN_Generic.cfg>: sent 1 blk, 793 bytes in 0 s. 0 blk resent [10/01 01:13:18.280]
Connection received from 10.1.1.169 on port 49161 [10/01 01:13:21.072]
Read request for file <MN_587854.cfg>. Mode octet [10/01 01:13:21.072]
File <MN_587854.cfg> : error 2 in system call CreateFile The system cannot find the file specified. [10/01 01:13:21.072]
Connection received from 10.1.1.169 on port 49162 [10/01 01:13:21.088]
Read request for file <MN_08000F445D08.cfg>. Mode octet [10/01 01:13:21.088]
OACK: <blksize=4096,> [10/01 01:13:21.088]
Using local port 56965 [10/01 01:13:21.088]TC
<MN_08000F445D08.cfg>: sent 1 blk, 1837 bytes in 0 s. 0 blk resent [10/01 01:13:21.088]
Connection received from 10.1.1.169 on port 49163 [10/01 01:13:25.612]
Read request for file <sip5324ttnlang_en_US.bin>. Mode octet [10/01 01:13:25.612]
File <sip5324ttnlang_en_US.bin> : error 2 in system call CreateFile The system cannot find the file specified. [10/01 01:13:25.612]


As you can see the error in red, it is looking for sip5324ttnlang_en_US.bin

New to mitel, can you tell me what is MN_587854.cfg it is looking for?

And I'm facing same problem as you do, no web UI.
Thanks

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9