Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server  (Read 5122 times)

Offline Spursn17uk

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server
« on: June 02, 2012, 02:58:47 AM »
Hi
I'm currently trying to migrate the dhcp role from a 2003 Sbs box to a 2008 standard box.
all dhcp is handled by the server with two scopes 10.1.37.0 and 10.1.38.0 for voice.

I have migrated the dhcp to the new server.the pcs are plugged into the back of the phones and are getting an ip from the correct scope and the leases are showing in dhcp.

However when I check the other scope there are no leases for the 10.1.38.0 scope???
The new dhcp server is on a different ip to the old one
Any ideas???

Mx3300 with 3 stacked 3 com 4500 switches.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2012, 03:03:03 AM by Spursn17uk »


Offline august

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
  • Country: ca
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2012, 07:54:22 AM »
You may download this DHCP Helper, that should help you.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/13376009/DHCP_Config_Helper_v3.zip

Offline Spursn17uk

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2012, 05:09:04 PM »
hey thanks tried to run it but get couple of erors

netsh not configured for dhcp and dyanamic update must be run in the same path or something

tried runing win system32 but same errorr????

Offline Mitel100

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 260
  • Country: gb
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2012, 05:43:01 PM »
Have you updated the IP Helper Addresses on the network switches?

Offline Spursn17uk

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2012, 05:52:47 PM »
No I haven updated anything on the switches. 3x 3com 4500
Could this be why???

Offline Mitel100

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 260
  • Country: gb
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2012, 08:05:19 AM »
This would need to be updated if the 2008 DHCP server has a different IP address to the old service. I would check this first as it is quick to check.


Offline Spursn17uk

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2012, 08:52:34 AM »
thought as much.trouble is the 3com 4500 switches were put in prior to my involvement and no one on site has any idea what the password for them is.

We have put a cisco POE Switch in which i can get in to  to change....

Offline Spursn17uk

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2012, 09:50:27 AM »
10.1.37.0 data
10.1.38.0 Voice
Old dhcp 10.1.37.1 new dhcp server 10.1.37.6

Switch has vlan 1 voice

and vlan 2 voip


ok so i have edited the dhcp-server command on the switch to point to the correct  dhcp server but phones still refuse to pick up an ip from the server and dont show in the address leases drop down in dhcp.
in the dhcp scope 10.1.38.0  i have the following
128 mitel tftp server = 10.1.38.1
129 mitel rtc card adress =10.1.38.1
130 mitel ip phone =ident mitel ip phone
132 mitel vlan id = 0x2
133 mitel priority = 0x6


anything im missing?????


if i turn the old DHCP server back on phones pickup ip straight away.









Offline Mitel100

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 260
  • Country: gb
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2012, 05:39:09 PM »
Option 130 seems to be wrong, it should just read = mitel ip phone.

Offline martyn

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 683
  • Country: au
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help migrating dhcp to 2008 server
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2012, 08:11:22 PM »
Also unless you are running an old instance of software you should really be using option 125 as that superseeds all of the old options.
If you use the DHCP helper tool you can generate the option 125 information and put it in to the DHCP scope for the voice network.


 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9