Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: Deploying UCA 5.0 client with privilege authority  (Read 3517 times)

Offline rlafata

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Deploying UCA 5.0 client with privilege authority
« on: May 29, 2012, 12:14:42 PM »
We plan on deploying UCA client 5.0 from 4.1.25.  Most of our users do not have admin rights to their PC.  We would like to use our privilege authority software.  When we tried to use this in the past it locked up Outlook 2007.  Has anyone used this software when rolling out UCA 5.0?  If so what files need admin rights to run the upgrade?

Thanks for any assistance!


Offline akuhn

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deploying UCA 5.0 client with privilege authority
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 12:32:56 PM »
I'm not familiar with that brand of roll-out software, but when I do something like that, I create a Group Policy Object and assign it to the computer object rather than the user object.  Therefore, user rights are no longer an issue because the installation occurs before the user logs into the PC.

You can look at some of my posts on how I deployed UCA 4x doing just that. 

Is this a possibility in your organization?

Offline rlafata

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deploying UCA 5.0 client with privilege authority
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2012, 10:38:42 AM »
Well we pushed out UCA 5.0 and all users are asked to upgrade the collaboration client.  They installed it but everytime they exit out of UCA and reopen it asks them again to upgrade colloboarion client?   We have version 1.2.4.0 of AWC but the server is trying to load 5.0 of AWC???   Anybody run into this issue?

Offline akuhn

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deploying UCA 5.0 client with privilege authority
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2012, 10:48:28 AM »
I'm going to guess that your AWC should be upgraded to match your new UCA server.  They are two peas-in-a-pod.

Offline martyn

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 683
  • Country: au
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deploying UCA 5.0 client with privilege authority
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2012, 09:59:04 PM »
Apart from you AWC being quite old and needing to be upgraded to MCA, I know there was a bug with one version of UCA 5 that caused the loop of the AWC client to occur. An update fixed the issue.

Offline dozer

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Deploying UCA 5.0 client with privilege authority
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2012, 10:34:32 AM »
The AWC needs to be upgraded to MCA.  The error stating there is a newer client download is a bug because even if you turn off the MCA feature for the UCA feature profile, you will still get that error because your UCA is configured with a collaboration server.  The client installs with the collaboration server enabled regardless of your feature profile.  The latest release of 4.0.0.25 still has this bug.  I just went through this with a new install and Mitel. 

For installers out there, if you install UCA and you have MCA, do NOT install the MCA blade on the same server as UCA unless you plan on getting it running.  If the blade is installed, UCA still tries to run the collaboration server regardless of features.  Also, if UCA and MCA are on the same server, I would suggest that your DN of MAS is the FQDN of MCA.  Example:

MAS - collab.domain.com - Locally resolved
MCA - collab.domain.com - Externally and internally resolved and points to internal LAN IP
UCA - uca.domain.com - Externally and internally resolved and points to internal LAN IP
UCA - always build via FQDN and never IP

Once this is done, and users browse to collab.domain.com, they will automatically be routed to collab.domain.com/portal.  You can still access collab.domain.com/server-manager internally.


 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9