Author Topic: Noob Q: Setting up listening in structure  (Read 2491 times)

Offline portlandian

• Contributer
    • View Profile
Noob Q: Setting up listening in structure
« on: April 18, 2012, 04:43:14 PM »
Hi all

I recently became the resident IT person at a place that uses a Mitel CS 5200 system running v3.1.2.18 which I can connect to via DB studio

I've never worked on these systems before but I am good at duplicating instructions provided they aren't filled with words I don't understand.

I don't know what the feature is named, but essentially the ability to listen in on other people, i need to implement a tiered structure for this so anyone at Tier 1 can listen to anyone else on Tier 1, and at Tier 2 anyone can listen to anyone else on Tier 1 and 2, etc.

Currently this is managed under System>Devices and Feature Codes>Hunt Groups>Local>####

Peoples extensions are placed into the member list and supervisor list for say 2001 who are all Tier 1. Then in hunt group 2002, all people in Tier 1 and 2 are added to members, but only Tier 2 people are put in supervisors.

This can't be the correct way to go about this! I have 4 tiers and it's very redundant if a Tier 1 person is hired and I have to add them to the members list of all 4 hunt groups.

Is there anyway I can add people to a group, then say that people supervise that group?

Also, can anyone tell me where backups are setup, so I can check to make sure that it is backing up, and even further, if I royally screw something up then I can use the backup :D

Thanks for any help!
Appreciated!

Offline NTEDave

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Noob Q: Setting up listening in structure
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 04:22:19 PM »
If i'm reading this correctly create a new group called Monitor or similar, place all of the Supervisors in the Supervisor field and all of the users they wish to listen to in the Members field.