Author Topic: No Ring for second caller when call recipient is on the phone.  (Read 6600 times)

Offline akuhn

• View Profile
I think this falls under 5000 programming.  I'm pretty new at that and usually only deal with the basics.

My colleague brought this situation up to me and I confirmed it first-hand.  When she is on the phone (and I can tell she is on the phone now that we have the UCA) and I call her using her internal 4 digit extension, I do not hear any ringing.  She can visually see me come up on the UCA caller ID, even as she is speaking to another party.

Shouldn't my call to her generate a ring tone for me, and then after a certain number of rings, go to VM?

I think this has nothing to do with UCA and would happen regardless.  That's why I think this is strictly a programming issue.

I compared her phone setup to others, and I found one anomoly, which I'm not sure matters:  House Phone Day, which is Red X'd, had a number in it.  I don't think anyone else has that, so I deleted the number which had an asterisks and 11 digits.  Besides, the Red X means that that feature wasn't turned on or licensed anyway, right?

I haven't tested it yet, but I doubt that's the issue. 

Suggestions?

Offline NTEDave

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: No Ring for second caller when call recipient is on the phone.
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 03:03:38 PM »
House Phone Day and night numbers are what the phone automatically dials if you have the House Phone flag enabled and go off hook.

Confusingly the numbers you enter for Station Speed dial 1 and 2 (or 0 and 1) are also entered under these fields. we use these fields for programming pick up groups which are a bit lacking on the 5000.

So the number you deleted on this particular phone was probably one of the users station speed dials  :-[