Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: NSU PRI Link to Another 3300 and NSU  (Read 3284 times)

Offline bluewhite4

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
NSU PRI Link to Another 3300 and NSU
« on: February 07, 2009, 11:04:30 AM »
I have the need to create a PRI link between two different 3300's, each with their own NSU. I plan on calling support on this on Monday, but was hoping to get a jump on it now.

Other then flipping the #6 dip switch on the back of the port of one of the NSUs, what else do I need to do to get it up and running?


Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5297
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: NSU PRI Link to Another 3300 and NSU
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2009, 10:15:32 AM »
I've never tied 3300 to 3300 except via MSDN.
I've connected to other systems via QSIG.

What's your application that you need to connect as a PRI?

Ralph
« Last Edit: April 23, 2014, 01:05:13 PM by ralph »

Offline bluewhite4

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: NSU PRI Link to Another 3300 and NSU
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 11:45:13 AM »
What we're really trying to do is put a Mitel 3300 between the CO office and a Nortel. Obviously we can get the PRI trunks up to the CO, but creating and bringing up the trunks to the Nortel is proving harder. We think we are going to change the protocal to DMS-100, so that the Mitel can be the network side of the connection. Does anyone know what advantages or disadvantages that DMS-100 has vs. NI2 5ESS??

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5297
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: NSU PRI Link to Another 3300 and NSU
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2009, 08:46:38 AM »
Ah!  Been there, done that.   Use QSIG.   Help docs are pretty good for it.
Since we are both the largest Mitel dealer in Michigan and one of the largest Nortel dealers in Michigan, we've had to do that.   QSIQ is the standard to set up networking between most systems.  Programs like PRI but easier.  Uses exact same hardware.

Ralph
« Last Edit: April 23, 2014, 01:04:17 PM by ralph »

Offline bluewhite4

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: NSU PRI Link to Another 3300 and NSU
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2009, 09:51:16 AM »
We wanted to use QSIG, but AT&T, who's the Nortel vendor, wanted to charge the end customer $15,000 to upgrade the software and hardware to to it. They claimed it wasn't possible to do QSIG with what they are currently running. This was the only other way we could do it.

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5297
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: NSU PRI Link to Another 3300 and NSU
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2009, 10:21:33 AM »
Dude!  That sucks! 
Can you get me the software version of the Nortel.  I'll bounce that off one of our Nortel Engineers.
You may want to accidently suggest to the customer the move from AT&T as their service provider.  Generally they'll get better service.  But, I'm starting to hear rumors about a CWA strike coming up.   Could leave your customer with a problem.

Ralph

« Last Edit: April 23, 2014, 01:04:05 PM by ralph »


 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9