Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: Mitel 5340 Issue  (Read 15833 times)

Offline MobileWASP

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Mitel 5340 Issue
« on: July 21, 2011, 09:29:54 AM »
I have a Mitel 5212 and 5340 handset. Both are connected to our office router. 5212 downloads and connects to TFTP server and able to make/receive calls. 5340 just keeps downloading and resetting continuously. Please help!


Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5297
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2011, 09:33:09 AM »
Try the simplest thing first.
Boot the phone while holding the 9 button.
Configure network.
Say no until you get to change network settings
Press 0 to default it.

Seen some strange things and a default sometimes can fix it.

Ralph

Offline MobileWASP

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2011, 09:46:24 AM »
Hi Ralph

When I reset to defaults, I get DHCP: Discovery, Option 128 Missing. I then put in the TFTP server IP and Port and it starts download and resets again

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5297
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2011, 10:02:55 AM »
What are you using for your DHCP server?
What specific error are you getting on the display when it reboots?

Check this article:
Option 128 Missing Fix


You can also try putting it in Teleworker mode.
Hold the 7 key and boot the phone.  Put  in the IP address of the 5000.

Ralph

Offline MobileWASP

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2011, 10:37:42 AM »
Do I put in the TFTP server IP or the phone's IP?

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5297
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2011, 11:08:48 AM »
The TFTP server.
I'm assuming it's teh 5000.

Ralph

Offline NTEDave

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 454
  • Country: gb
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2011, 12:15:09 PM »
If you aren't using your DHCP server to issue the address of the Mitel 5000 you need to enter this address under ICP IP Address in the phone config.

Offline MobileWASP

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2011, 08:59:58 AM »
Used the Reboot with hold 7 button and putting in TFTP server IP, still same issue of downloading and resetting. It seems that the phone just never downloads the entirely and then resets and restarts downloading. Any other suggestions?

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5297
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2011, 10:22:29 AM »
Bad phone maybe?

Ralph

Offline NTEDave

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 454
  • Country: gb
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2011, 05:51:10 PM »
MobileWASP, these two phones are actually connecting to a Mitel 5000 system somewhere on your premises, or are these phones remote handsets?

The forum we are in supports the Mitel 5000 system which is the broad term for the CS5200, CS5400, CS5600 or 5000 HX.


Offline mav

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: england
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2011, 03:36:44 PM »
If this is on a 5000, to get into network settings etc power the 5340 up whilst holding down both the volume up and down keys, then after say 10 seconds let go of the vol down key only. Display should then offer network menu etc. Check IP settings in here as it may be that the 5340 has 3300 code in it not 5000 code.

Offline StarLog

  • Contributer
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mitel 5340 Issue
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2011, 02:35:37 PM »
You should not have to put anything in the setup of the end-point, if it is defaulted, it will look for the options needed to boot from your tftp server.
If you have the DHCP Scope setup to support the IP segment, i.e. in the pool for the end-units.
Setup a scope option for 125 Mitel 125
Setup a Scope option for 128 Mitel TFTP, this points to the tftp server
Setup a scope option for 129 Mitel RTC
Setup a scope option for 130 Mitel IP Phone identifier
Setup a scope option for 132 VLAN for Mitel IP Phones
Setup a scope option for 133 Priority for Mitel IP Phone

If your not able to find how to do this, I will look up a document and post here. I am sure it is in the FAQ for Mitel website.

This works for ALL the end-points on the network, no need to configure each phone, unless they are off property and coming in to the network from a public IP, behind a public firewall. Then I had to setup the IPC IP


 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9