Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: "remove gateway error" on troubled 53xx phones/subnet  (Read 4708 times)

Offline gbrown

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
"remove gateway error" on troubled 53xx phones/subnet
« on: March 25, 2011, 12:30:25 PM »
We have a voice quality issue on one of our subnets/vlans passing through our Sonicwall. So far, we've isolated it to newer 5312 and 5324 phones.  Almost every time these phones boot, they show "remove gateway error" just before going to a ready state. The phones work ok (aside from the jitter sounding call quality).

Any ideas what "remove gateway error" means?


Offline gbrown

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: "remove gateway error" on troubled 53xx phones/subnet
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2011, 12:02:56 PM »
Nobody has any ideas what this error means?  We have a VAR coming out today to take a look, I'll post back if we/they figure it out.

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5296
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: "remove gateway error" on troubled 53xx phones/subnet
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2011, 12:07:33 PM »
Can you post your voice subnet, subnet mask and gateway for us?

Ralph
« Last Edit: April 23, 2014, 04:19:13 PM by ralph »

Offline gbrown

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: "remove gateway error" on troubled 53xx phones/subnet
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2011, 12:38:12 PM »
Sure!

Voice subnet = 192.168.84.0
subnet mask = 255.255.255.0
gateway = 192.168.84.1
Vlan 10, qos pri 6

Our 3300 is at 192.168.46.30

EDIT: I should also mention that the Sonicwall is that network's DHCP server.  Data scope on 192.168.48.0/24 and Voice scope on 192.168.84.0/24
Everywhere else on our network is being serviced by a Windows 2003 DHCP server. The DHCP options are identical on the Sonicwall and Windows DHCP server. And the phones boot/function - we're just experiencing "Jitter-sounding robot voice" along with the 'remove remote gateway' error.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 12:50:25 PM by gbrown »

Offline ralph

  • Mitel Forums Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5296
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +453/-0
  • Published Author: http://amzn.to/2dcYSY5
    • View Profile
Re: "remove gateway error" on troubled 53xx phones/subnet
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2011, 01:21:54 PM »
What type of data switches are the phones on?

Is the Sonicwall the gateway or something else?

Do you have 5330 or 5340 sets on the network?  Do they have the same issue?

I've seen some weird things with ICMP redircts and the 53xx phones.   See if you can turn off ICMP redirects in the default gateway.

Any chance you can put a wireshark sniff on the phone as it boots?

Ralph
« Last Edit: April 23, 2014, 04:19:27 PM by ralph »

Offline brantn

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 270
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: "remove gateway error" on troubled 53xx phones/subnet
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2011, 07:28:53 PM »
I have never seen that error before agreed on if other sets types.


 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9