Author Topic: Is it possible to set up analog ringer bell to mitel ip phone using grandstream  (Read 3200 times)

Offline scottH

• Contributer
    • View Profile
Hi be nice first post. We have just gone over to Mitle voip system at our school and our kitchen staff cannot hear the phone when it rings as its very quiet and in an office, the phone is a 5304 ip phone. We have a bell in the kitchen itself with a analg cable running back to where the old phone was located, i have a grandstream ata adapter  (HT802) and i was wondering if its possible to connect the phone and bell via this? and if so whats involved, im new to this and not very up with Voip systems.

Thanks.

Offline acejavelin

• Global Moderator
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Sure, it works fine... Except you need to keep in mind that the Grandstream only puts out 45-60VAC for ringing which may not work with some analog ringers.

Depending which system you have, you maybe able to use the old bell and cable though. Most physical (non-virtualized) Mitel controls have usable analog ports embedded in them. If one is free, you could have it programmed and connect the ringer to it.

There are also IP only options like ringers/strobes from Algo that are just programmed as a generic SIP device.

Offline scottH

• Contributer
    • View Profile
Thanks for the reply as i said im new to voip, im more at home with computer networks. would it take much setting up to get this too work? im guessing the network still connects to the ip phone which then using rj45 connects to the grandstream box which then connects to the bell via one of of the FXS ports? also ive logged into the grandstream via its ip address and it looks like another language to me so i have no idea what to configure and where in there.

Offline Dogbreath

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile