Home Page Articles User Guides News Letter  



Author Topic: Socket SIP Trunks - Hold Issue  (Read 159 times)

Offline Tech Electronics

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1964
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +53/-0
    • View Profile
Socket SIP Trunks - Hold Issue
« on: December 05, 2017, 10:15:13 AM »
Anyone,

Has anybody ever worked with Socket Telecom using SIP Trunks over a third-party private network? The issue we are running into is if a call gets put on Hold for any reason then Socket will send a private address to respond back to. When we respond to that IP Address the packets are dropped. Socket wants us to only send SIP Messages to the FQDN and disregard any other messages they send that have any changes to the Route or Contact information. As you might have guessed, by default, the system will send the message back to where it is told to and then the call is dropped when there is no reply; go figure.

The only thing I can think to do is to put something in between that will perform  a Stateful Packt Inspection and then a SIP Transformation on the packets that have the Private IP Address. I am not even sure such a thing exists that can be programmed to make specific changes like that.

Thanks,

TE


Offline acejavelin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2708
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +65/-0
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: Socket SIP Trunks - Hold Issue
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2017, 10:21:58 AM »
I haven't ran into this with Socket specifically, but I have had this exact issue with our own Broadsoft hosted service using a MBG and it is something with our Sansay SBC at the host site not properly doing the NAT out of the host core to the customer... I can't say this is the same issue, but it sounds exactly like something we fought with recently.

The only solution I have found is to install a NetVanta 3140 (or TA900e with SBC license) and use it as customer side SBC, setup the Adtran to register the trunks, then the Mitel registers to the Adtran.

Offline Tech Electronics

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1964
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +53/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Socket SIP Trunks - Hold Issue
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2017, 10:27:44 AM »
acejavelin,

Would the MBG be able to do this or does it require an actual SBC?

Thanks,

TE

Offline acejavelin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2708
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +65/-0
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: Socket SIP Trunks - Hold Issue
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2017, 10:46:23 AM »
acejavelin,

Would the MBG be able to do this or does it require an actual SBC?

Thanks,

TE
I tried to get this to work with SIP Translations in the MBG but never could. The Adtran solution worked perfectly as an edge SBC, one interface with a dedicated public IP and one interface connected to the voice VLAN. I can supply you with some configs that deal with this and issues with passing caller ID though since the Mitel 5000 doesn't send Diversion headers.

Offline Tech Electronics

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1964
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +53/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Socket SIP Trunks - Hold Issue
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2017, 10:53:55 AM »
acejavelin,

I would appreciate that. I was thinking about the SIP Translations, but I have never setup an MBG with a MiVO-250 and was unsure about the configuration of it as a whole.

This whole thing got dropped in my lap as no one else has been able to figure it out. After a lot of digging around I figured out what was happening only to find out later on that Socket was already aware of what they were sending us and said that they need us only to respond to the FQDN they provided; argh.

I have a ticket in with Mitel on this as well and hopeful that they would have something to shed some light on it. I know there are some "undocumented" features within the SIP Peer Profile General Section and within the Trunk Groups that may help with this too.

Thanks,

TE

Offline acejavelin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2708
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +65/-0
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: Socket SIP Trunks - Hold Issue
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2017, 11:00:37 AM »
acejavelin,

I would appreciate that. I was thinking about the SIP Translations, but I have never setup an MBG with a MiVO-250 and was unsure about the configuration of it as a whole.

This whole thing got dropped in my lap as no one else has been able to figure it out. After a lot of digging around I figured out what was happening only to find out later on that Socket was already aware of what they were sending us and said that they need us only to respond to the FQDN they provided; argh.

I have a ticket in with Mitel on this as well and hopeful that they would have something to shed some light on it. I know there are some "undocumented" features within the SIP Peer Profile General Section and within the Trunk Groups that may help with this too.

Thanks,

TE
Unless those options are deeper than the Online Monitor they don't help... I worked with support and tried just about every option and never got it to work... I will send you a cleaned up Adtran config that I have been using via PM and let you look at it

Offline Tech Electronics

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1964
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +53/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Socket SIP Trunks - Hold Issue
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2017, 11:21:20 AM »
acejavelin,

Unfortunately nothing we are supposed to change is deeper than the OLM, and still supported by Mitel. I really don't know why they don't document some of those features that are obviously labeled. I understand some of them, but others are rather vague. There are also a whole slew of them under OLM/System Information that I have changed over the years when directly by engineering, but some of those have changed [Spare Bytes] as to what they are for I believe.

Thanks,

TE


 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9