Author Topic: Program account codes to restrict international calls  (Read 2085 times)

Offline PhoneSlayer

• Contributer
  • I don't like jazz; too many notes.
    • View Profile
Program account codes to restrict international calls
« on: February 07, 2017, 03:51:53 PM »
I'm looking for a way to use Account Codes to restrict the caller's ability to dial international calls. I would like all international calls to prompt for an account code (it can be as basic as 001), and then I will give the code (in this example, 001) to the employees permitted to make international calls.

I'm relatively new to the 5000/MiVO250, and cannot find any good programming guides for Account Codes. Any suggestions are appreciated.
Thanks.

Offline dwayneg

• View Profile
Re: Program account codes to restrict international calls
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2017, 05:06:33 PM »
Unfortunately you can't do exactly that.  The choices for requiring account code are ALL CALL, LOCAL TOLL CALLS and LONG-DISTANCE TOLL CALLS...ALL CALLS includes LOCAL TOLL and LONG DISTANCE TOLL, LOCAL TOLL includes LONG DISTANCE TOLL.
You could probably modify NUMBERING PLAN/TOLL STRINGS so that LOCAL TOLL included  the LD strings and LONG DISTANCE included only international, but you're getting into deep water here, not for the novice.  If you insist on playing with it message me and I'll send further thoughts about how it could be implemented and what the repercussions might be.

If you don't do a lot of international a much simpler solution is to restrict ALL phones from international (NUMBERING PLAN/CLASSES OF SERVICE), then create a few HOT DESK EXTENSIONS that don't have those restrictions.  Users who need to call international just log in as one of those hot desk users.  Hot desk logins do require a password, so you have that security.

That's the best I can come up with.

Offline PhoneSlayer

• Contributer
  • I don't like jazz; too many notes.
    • View Profile