Author Topic: Forwarding  (Read 3006 times)

Offline venturecaptive

• View Profile
Forwarding
« on: December 21, 2016, 05:12:26 PM »
I'm sorry if this appears to be a silly question but I'm a newbie. I have a 5330e phone and it is not set to forward yet when someone calls from the outside world it gets forwarded t someone else's extension. Why is this happening and how can I stop it?

Offline dwayneg

• View Profile
Re: Forwarding
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2016, 05:28:24 PM »
I think maybe it's not actually FORWARDING.  Easy test: call the destination extension, watch the display of the ext call is actually going to...does it say "Fwd From <other ext>"?  If not, it isn't forwarding.  Maybe instead call is being directed to the other extension by a wrong entry in the DID routing table?  That's in SYSTEM/TRUNK RELATED INFO/CALL ROUTING TABLES.  This is what directs a specific outside number to a specific phone.

If it really is forwarding you'd see that either on the original phone's display on a manual forward or in SYSTEM/DEVICES/PHONES/<EXT>/FORWARDING PATHS if it's using system forwarding.

Offline venturecaptive

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2016, 02:30:40 PM »
First of all I want to thank you for taking your time to help me with this problem. I did what you suggested which was from my mobile phone I called my DID number. On the display that the calls are getting forwarded to it has the following:
At the very top of the display it has my mobile number, under that it has my name and under that it has “Forward Call”

Another thing I tried was to forward the phone to another extension or to voicemail. I did this to see if it would not keep forwarding to the other persons (my boss) extension but when I tried to do that the display on my phone said “The activation of your call forwarding profile failed.”