Author Topic: Question from a complete newbie  (Read 2216 times)

Offline dottest37

• Contributer
    • View Profile
Question from a complete newbie
« on: December 18, 2016, 01:35:10 PM »
Hi guys
I accidentally ended in charge of making backups for a mitel PBX.
I dot remotely, using a software called "Session Manager",, but the truth is, I dont know even the model number of the PBX im using.
(The actual device is remote, and I access the PC with the software via Remote Desktop.
The owner of the business used to have a guy that knows about it, but he left, so I ended up trying to take over.

I was reading around, and trying to leanr more about it, specially because I want to check the possibility of making those backups via FTP or some other way (so I can automate them).
So far I do via Remote Desktop, but it is error prone and I have to enter the machine with the Session Manager.

How can I check on the session manager what device Im connecting to, and any other useful information?

Thanks!

Offline DND ON

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Question from a complete newbie
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2016, 10:22:12 PM »
This has disaster written all over it. Contact your vendor and arrange for proper training before you do damage.

There is nothing intuitive about this system and there is no undo button.

Offline Tech Electronics

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2016, 07:53:42 AM »
dottest37,

If you are using software called Session Manager then you are working on an Inter-Tel Axxess phone system. There is a field that is labeled System Version that will tell you what version of software the system is running.

There is not an automated Backup procedure built into that software and FTP was not an option. The last time that software was updated was sometime in 2008 I believe and the system is no longer supported by the manufacturer.