Author Topic: Audio drops for 10-15 seconds  (Read 2684 times)

Offline alfa145

• View Profile
Audio drops for 10-15 seconds
« on: March 16, 2016, 06:25:34 AM »
Introduction
I have limited SIP/Mitel experience, but my networking is pretty strong.  The PBX was already configured before I joined so have limited knowledge of how Mitel works, but I have read the deployment guide for networking requirements.

The Problem
We have recently opened a branch office and have deployed some Mitel & Polycom handsets (2 of each, 4 in total).  The audio drops for around 15 seconds, usually both ways after 4-6 minutes into a call, internal or external, teleworker mode or native mode.

Teleworker mode works fine from other sites, and the handsets at the primary office do not suffer this issue.

Configuration
LDN3300 hosted at primary data centre as virtual appliance
Primary office:
Has a L2 link (400Mbps) to the data centre where the LDN resides (separate voice VLAN stretched across sites)
We use Juniper SRX switches & SSG firewalls (though voice does not touch this firewall)
We have around 300 handsets working fine here, no issues and around 50 teleworkers - not sure on concurrent calls, but no issues present

New site (Branch Office):
L3 link to ISP, 50Mbps
IPSEC VPN to datacentre where the PBX is - all VLANs allowed, minimal firewalling (voice VLAN at branch allowed to full voice VLAN at DC)
~50 computers
4 handsets
Juniper SRX switches (x2, virtual chassis) , SSG firewalls (x2, active/passive)
Network configuration - separate voice VLAN, DHCP issued by server with 125 option, LLDP to auto place phones into voice VLAN - this works as expected.  Phones connect through VPN.
Voice VLAN has priority set and correct frame forwarding in line with Juniper's recommendation (I think it is assured forwarding).

Troubleshooting Performed
Teleworker mode - same symptoms as native
Disabled ICMP redirect on switches & firewall (though none were captured during a port mirroring session)