Author Topic: Moving from PRI to Analog POTS lines  (Read 1857 times)

Offline bambambo

• View Profile
Moving from PRI to Analog POTS lines
« on: October 19, 2015, 03:31:00 PM »
Hi!

I do tech work for a school which has an older SX200 Cabinet System...

They are moving their telephone services from the current PRI (connected trough CSU/DSU) connection
to 2 analog POTS lines.

Their SX200 has  LG/GS TRUNK CARD with 6 Ports that had been pulled out.
I connected the card into the system and punched down the lines on the corresponding block.
The card stays in alarm all the time.

I have connected to the system using HyperTerminal on the Maintenance Port.

What changes do I have to make to the system to start accepting calls on that LG/GS card.
What changes do I have to make for the system to pick up a POTS line when 8 is dialed
on the phone?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have a lot of telephone experience with older
PBX systems, just never worked on a Mitel before..

Thank you,
Bo

Offline acejavelin

• Global Moderator
  • High-tech, heavy metal redneck!
    • View Profile
    • Like what I do and wanna help out? Send me a donation!
Re: Moving from PRI to Analog POTS lines
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2015, 03:40:04 PM »
Sounds like they care completely unconfigured, you need to start at step 1... Config the card in Form 1, build a COS, build a trunk descriptor, build trunks in Form 14, etc.

I would suggest Googling up a copy of the technician's handbook, it has most of what you need step by step if I remember correctly.

Offline bambambo

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2015, 03:52:03 PM »
Thank you for your response!

I forgot to mention that they are currently configured to go out on the PRI, and
are still accepting calls on that circuit. I am looking to switch them to the Analog Lines.

Another quick questions, when I am in the Maintanance port, logged in as Supervisor,